Kristineberg Research Station

Open ARTS Community Workshop 2024

Background and Scope

Participants of the Open ARTS Community Workshop 2024

A workshop series in mm and sub-mm radiative transfer was started in 1999. These workshops were held in the Bremen area, primarily at Bredbeck. The discussion and work at those workshops had a central role in the initiation and development of the freely available radiative transfer model, ARTS. The target audience are users and developers of the atmospheric radiative transfer simulator ARTS, and also anyone interested in spectroscopy or radiation that can give us new impulses.

Date and Place

The workshop was held on June 4-7, 2024 at the Kristineberg Center.

The research station is located about 100 km north of Gothenburg.



Workshop material

The posters and slides of the presentations held at the workshop are available for download


  • Adrianos Filinis, University of Bern
  • Alistair Bell, University of Bern
  • Axel Murk, University of Bern
  • Catalina Medina, Institute of Applied Physics, University of Bern
  • David Ashmore, Met Office
  • Dominik Belousov, University of Bern
  • Eleanor May, Chalmers University of Technology
  • Faustine Mascaut, Onsala Space Observatory / Chalmers University of Technology
  • Florian Römer, Universität Hamburg
  • Hanna Hallborn, Chalmers University of Technology
  • Hauke Damerow, Universität Hamburg
  • Ian Adams, NASA Goddard Space Flight Center
  • Kaah Menang, Universität Hamburg, Germany and University of Buea, Cameroon
  • Leo Pio D'Adderio, CNR-ISAC
  • Manfred Brath, Universität Hamburg, Meteorological Institute
  • Mathias Milz, Luleå University of Technology
  • Michael J Schwartz, NASA JPL
  • Oleksandr Bobryshev, Deutscher Wetterdienst
  • Oliver Lemke, Universität Hamburg
  • Patrick Eriksson, Chalmers University of Technology
  • Peter McEvoy, Chalmers University of Technology
  • Richard Johansson, The Swedish Institute of Space Physics
  • Richard Larsson, Universität Hamburg
  • Robert Pincus, Columbia University
  • Sagi Kazutoshi, NICT Terahertz Technology Research Center
  • Stefan Buehler, Universität Hamburg
  • Stuart Fox, Met Office
  • Uwe Raffalski, Swedish Institute of Space Physics
  • Witali Krochin, University of Bern