Kristineberg Research Station

Open ARTS Community Workshop 2017

Background and Scope

Participants of the Open ARTS Community Workshop 2017

A workshop series in mm and sub-mm radiative transfer was started in 1999. These workshops were held in the Bremen area, primarily at Bredbeck. The discussion and work at those workshops had a central role in the initiation and development of the freely available radiative transfer model, ARTS. The ARTS model, the accompanying Atmlab/Qpack tools and, for the first time, the new Python toolbox Typhon were a main topic of the workshop. The second, more general, objective of the workshop is to enhance information exchange and collaboration regarding radiative transfer modelling in the mm and sub-mm frequency ranges. The content of this part depends on active input from the workshop participants.

Date and Place

The workshop was held on September 6-8, 2017 at the Kristineberg Marine Research Station.

The research station is located about 100 km north of Gothenburg.





Workshop material

The slides of the presentations held at the workshop are available for download


  • David Duncun, Colorado State University / Chalmers
  • David Newnham, British Antarctic Survey
  • Dong Wu, NASA Goddard Space Flight Center
  • Emma Turner, Met Office, UK
  • Franz Schreier, DLR Remote Sensing Tech Institute
  • Franziska Schranz, Institute of Applied Physics, University of Bern, Switzerland
  • Ian S. Adams, NASA Goddard Space Flight Center
  • Jana Mendrok, Chalmers University of Technology
  • Jonas Hagen, Institute of Applied Physics, University of Bern
  • Lukas Kluft, Max Planck Institute for Meteorology
  • Manfred Brath, Meteorologisches Institut, Universität Hamburg
  • Mathias Milz, Luleå University of Technology
  • Ole Martin Christensen, Stockholm University
  • Oleksandr Bobryshev, Universitaet Hamburg
  • Oleksii Patoka, Institute of Radio Astronomy of the National Academy of Sciences of Ukraine (IRA NASU)
  • Ole Martin Christensen, Stockholm University
  • Oliver Lemke, Universität Hamburg
  • Patrick Eriksson, Chalmers University of Technology
  • Peter Forkman, Chalmers University of Technology
  • Richard Larsson, NICT
  • Robin Ekelund, Chalmers University of Technology
  • Simon Pfreundschuh, Chalmers University of Technology
  • Stefan Buehler, Universität Hamburg
  • Stephen Munchak, NASA Goddard Space Flight Center
  • Stuart Fox, Met Office
  • Takahoshi Yamada, National Institute of Information and Communications Technology, Tokyo Institute of Technology
  • Uwe Raffalski, Swedish Institute of Space Physics
  • Verena Grützun, Universität Hamburg
  • Wang Yuke, Graduate student of Jilin University, Changchun,China